Saatva Luxury Firm Mattress Review

Saatva Luxury Firm Overview

I’m often asked, “What mattress do you sleep on?”  So here it is, a review of my own mattress, the Saatva “Luxury Firm.” I’ve been in this industry for so long, I really can sleep on just almost anything I want, but this is the one I went with.  The Saatva isn’t the most expensive mattress in the world but it’s the bed I like the best and I explain why in the video below.  The overall feel is a “medium firm,” and on a scale of 1 to 10, 1 being very firm and 10 being very soft, I would say it’s a 5.

Watch the video below to get the full details.

Click Here to Visit Saatva

Construction

The Saatva Luxury Firm is an innerspring mattress, but quite different from typical innerspring mattresses found in stores.  For starters, the construction rivals mattresses costing easily $2,000 more.  This is because they use what’s known as a “coil-on-coil” unit, which is two “levels” of inner-springs stacked in the bed as opposed to just one “level” like most beds.  The top level consists of a series of individually wrapped springs.  It’s an 884 coil count (884 springs in a queen size), and these wrapped springs are what conform to the body while reducing a lot of motion transfer in the bed.

Underneath that is their base level of springs, which is their steel hourglass shaped support system.  They are super thick bonnell coils, 13 gauge and it’s a 416 count.

Total Coil Count: 1300

Cover: Organic Cotton Circular Knit Top Panel
Quilt Fill: 1.25″ Super Soft Foam + 1 oz. Dacron +3/4″ Fiber + Natural Thistle FR
Upholstery (Comfort): 5/8″ Soft Foam Layer and 3/8″ Visco Lumbar Pad (Plant-Based)
Foundation: 8″ Profile or 4″ Low Profile Waterfall Pedestal Foundation

Positives

Price.  This set currently runs $1249 and if it were sold in a typical mattress store, they would mark up way up to $2499-$2799 or even over $3,000 depending on the retailer.  Some people might find that hard to believe, but markups in some stores can even exceed 300%.  Saatva doesn’t believe in the traditional ways of buying a mattress, so part of their philosophy is skipping the middleman so they can get you a superior mattress for a fraction of the price.  Since they don’t have all the overhead that brick and mortar stores have, like rent, utilities and so on, they can sell their beds for up to 70% less of comparable beds found in mattress stores.

Saatva’s Green Initiative.  Knowing what I know about how typical mattresses are made and the materials and chemicals they use, there’s absolutely no way I’ll ever sleep on one of them again (aside from short-term testing purposes).  Some of them are literally toxic chemical cocktails, and that’s not an exaggeration.

I try to stay away from that stuff.  I even go so far as to use only organic or natural soaps and shampoos, so creating a non-toxic bedroom was important to me.  I didn’t use to be like this.  In the past I couldn’t care less about this stuff, but something happens when you do a lot of research about this sort of thing.  Long story short, Saatva’s beds are CertiPUR certified to be low in VOC’s and made without PBDE flame retardants, ozone depleters, phthalates, formaldehyde, and heavy metals. I like that a lot.  They’re also members of the Sustainable Furnishings Council.  You can read more about their green initiative here.

Comfortable.  This mattress is very comfortable and is the perfect feel for me and the way I sleep.  I sleep on my back and side, so I need my bed to be relatively firm but not “hard.”  Also, I’ve really grown to appreciate the slight buoyancy inherent with an innerspring mattress.  There’s just something about it that makes me relax better, maybe it has to do with it being a more familiar feel since I’ve grown up sleeping on old school spring mattresses.  My back feels better on it.

120-Day No Penalty Home Trial.  They really make an effort to take the risk out of buying a bed online through their 120-day money back guarantee.  Like me, they don’t believe that trying out a bed in a showroom for a couple of minutes is a good way to pick a bed.  Instead, they believe in an in-home trial.  Ultimately, you really can’t tell if you’ll like a bed anyway until you sleep on it, so that’s what they let you do.  You can read more about their friendly return policy here.

Negatives

While the cover is organic cotton, the bed itself is not entirely organic.  That’s not a big deal for me, I don’t require a pure organic bed.  I’m totally fine with what they’ve done here since I’ve got a deep understanding of the production methods used as well as the certifications.

Not adjustable-base friendly.  I personally do not use an adjustable base and don’t plan on it until I’m at least 75 years old, so it’s not an issue for me.  But if you’re looking for a mattress to use with an adjustable base, unfortunately this won’t work due to the heavy duty coil construction.

Update: Up until March 2017, Saatva mattresses were not compatible with adjustable bases, however they’ve recently redesigned their slimmer 11.5″ version to work with their new adjustable base, the “Lineal.” Note that any 11.5″ versions made before March 2017 and their 14.5″ version are not compatible.

Can’t test it out before buying.  Some people will likely see the fact that you can’t try the bed out first before buying it as a negative.  In the past I would’ve likely seen that as a negative as well, but these days in my mind it’s actually a positive.  After having sold thousands of beds over the years in a showroom setting, I’ve come to the conclusion that mattress store showrooms end up fostering more confusion and paralysis rather than a feeling of clarity and certainty.  This has to do with the inherent structure of mattress stores, they’re overloaded with options and more times than not, the paradox of choice kicks in.  Saatva realized this problem and decided to simplify the process by offering just 1 model available in 3 options, which really makes it easy and refreshing.

Should You Buy It?

Yes.  I highly recommend Saatva, they’re a breath of fresh air, and this is the mattress I recommend to my friends and family.

– Sean

Click Here to Visit Saatva

Tip#1:  Saatva recommends rotating the bed at least once a year, but I don’t think that’s enough.  I’ve learned over the years that most mattresses need to be “prepared” so that it can wear evenly.  So for best results I suggest rotating the mattress head to toe once a month for the first 3 months.  This will allow the dense top layers to break in.  After that, rotate head to toe once every new season.

Tip#2:  Don’t use a typical mattress pad, instead use a very thin protector.  Mattress pad’s generally have some padding built in, and they will alter the feel of this bed and may even make it feel firmer than it actually is.  Sounds counter-intuitive, but you get this effect because most pads will create a “drumming” effect.

To get the full benefits of this bed you want to as close to the mattress as possible with very little separating your body from the bed.  A good one is the Luna Premium Protector or the Coyuchi Organic Flannel Protector (my favorite).  Protecting your mattress from the very beginning is key.  I can’t stress this enough.  Moisture, body fluids (aka sweat) are the biggest cause of premature sagging because the top layers are like a sponge, they absorb everything which accelerates the wear and tear on a mattress.  By protecting your mattress and keeping it dry, you preserve the comfort layers which helps it retain its shape longer.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in this post are affiliate links.  This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive a referral fee at no additional cost to you. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I’ve used and tested personally.

,

  • Suzanne M.

    Just purchased this mattress thanks to you and your review. After watching the review we went right to their site and we were thoroughly impressed by everything that is Saatva. Can’t wait for it to arrive! Thanks for the review and your site. It made our mattress buying experience a breeze!

    • Glad I could help Suzanne!

    • Mr Neutron

      how do you feel 2 years later? IMO reviews posted before an item even arrives are not helpful.

  • Kelly

    Purchased mine today. If it’s good enough to be the one a mattress reviewer buys, I’m pretty convinced. Can’t wait to get it. Thanks for the suggestion!

  • Heather

    I am in the process of buying my first Saatva. I have one question. When you got your mattress, does it have a chemical smell?

    • No chemical smell. Just a slight “new mattress” smell. Remember that Saatva only uses foams certified by CertiPUR, so that means there’s no bad stuff. (low VOC’s, no ozone depleters, PBDE’s, phthalates, and no formaldehyde.)

  • Dawn

    Hoping to order a mattress today! I need a cool mattress though and am a bit worried that Saatva may sleep hot. I haven’t found lots of reviews from women addressing this issue. Also I have a platform bed -king- and don’t think I need any type if frame. Is this correct?

    • Yes Dawn, It’s breathable. And I live in Las Vegas! The organic cotton cover definitely helps with that. You are correct that you don’t need a foundation or another frame, you just place the mattress on your platform bed.

      • usmaels

        You live in Las Vegas??? Why is that supposed to make nayone beleive this bed is not hot to sleep in? Las Vegas is a very dry climate…extremely low humidity. I’d expect very little problems with a bed being too hot with with virtually any bed in Las Vega. It goes without saying you would be using air conditioning. But the fact is many cites are humid. Many are very humid. I live in Florida…so you know it’s very humid here. In a humid climate…even with air conditioning…not being hot in a bed is a ”real” challenge…unlike it would be in Las Vegas. We have been curious about Saatva also..and out biggest concern is also if it would be hot to sleep in. I just did not understand why you felt living in Las Vegas proves this bed is not hot. Yes..Las Vega may be one of the hottest cites…but the lack of humidity is key to why is does not feel as hot. I’m sure if you came to Florida ..it would be too hot her for you. The air condition is used in Florida to lower the humidity more than anything…but it still does not get lowered as much as it is in Las Vegas. Even our air conditioned air is more humid in Florida.

        • mo

          even though we have no humidity it can still get quite uncomfortable because in the summer the coolest temp still can be 105 degrees at night, even in the air condition its is still a challenge to sleep comfortably, 26 years in vegas! 115 to 120 degrees in july is still extremely hot! and of course 95 degrees with 95 percent humidity is also disgustingly uncomfortable… its all relative 🙂 Having a cooler mattress is the key to a better night sleep anywhere.

  • Nathan

    On a scale of 1-10 how soft is the “plush soft” mattress? I often like softer mattresses but I have been on some that have no body support. Also is there a large difference in the feeling of the 11.5″ model from the 14.5″ model?

    • Hey Nathan, I haven’t tried out the plush soft yet, but based on the specs and speaking to them I would say it’s going to be approximately a 7 or 8 or so on my scale of 1 to 10. Nice thing is you’ll get exactly the same support on the Plush Soft as you would the Luxury Firm. And zero difference between the 11.5″ and 14.5″ models in feel. Just a matter of the look you’re going for.

      • Rich Kaps

        I have the luxury firm now and its way to hard, I am switch to the plush soft, will there be a significant difference between the 2?
        I am hoping so.

        • Marcus

          Do you like it better?

        • soupdog

          I agree, the luxury firm is much harder than we expected based on the description. We are also switching to the plush soft, but I’m afraid it will be too soft.

          • Agrivatedcitizen

            Soupdog.. did you switch to the plush? If so are you glad you did? And I have no idea where my name came from

  • Emil Balusek

    I am confused by what you said about the Adjustable Frame. I have a metal adjustable frame on my full sized bed base with an attached headboard. Will that work with this mattress or would I need to get something else??

    • An adjustable base is a base that will articulate up and down, sort of like the old Craftmatic beds. An adjustable frame is different, that’s a metal frame that you typically put the boxpring & mattress on. Do you have a boxspring on top of your frame? If so, you’ll be able to just replace your existing set (box & mattress.) You won’t need to get a different frame.

  • Emil Balusek

    I am also not a little guy, weigh in at a bit over 250. I have had sagging issues with the mattresses lately and typically, after a bit, there is a gully that I sleep in. Side sleeper mostly.

  • Emil Balusek

    thanks, that answered the question….

  • John M

    how quiet is it? Do you hear the springs when sitting on it, moving around? Do you feel your partner moving around?

    • Hey John, it’s really quiet. I can’t say that I ever really hear the springs. You’re lying directly on the pocketed coils on the top, so there’s no metal-on-metal contact. There is the *slightest* bit of motion, but it’s hardly even noticeable.

  • Colin Smith

    Hi Sean. Thanks for the review. Had a question I’m hoping you can help with. I bought a Memory foam awhile back, but after sleeping on it for about 2 months, it is not working out for me and my wife. We wake up feeling tired. I might give it a little while longer to see if we might get used to it. But then I’m planning to return it. It is a Sleep Science ARA 13″ from Costco which is supposedly similar to Tempur-Pedic Cloud Supreme. Anyway, I’m thinking about replacing it with a Saatva Luxury Firm. I was wondering if you think it will provide a better sleep and might be aware of any people that switched from Memory Foam to Saatva and was happy (or not happy) with the switch?

    Thanks in advance … Colin

    • Hey Colin, good question, but somewhat of an impossible question for me to answer. It’s always hard to promise someone that they will sleep better on ‘x’ mattress instead of ‘y’ mattress. There are just too many variables for me to guarantee anyone “better sleep” on a specific mattress. It really depends on the cause(s) of the poor sleep. However, if you know that sleeping on a memory foam mattress is in fact the main reason why you aren’t getting good sleep, then it’s very possible that your sleep will improve by switching. I can tell you that in my opinion Saatva has done everything they can design wise to ensure that people get correct spinal support at night, and make it comfortable as well, which can translate to better quality sleep for many people. Even the type of pillow you use can make a big difference as well. Memory foam mattresses aren’t for everyone and people switch to innerspring beds all the time. Hope this helps!

      • Colin Smith

        Thanks Sean. That certainly helps.

  • Brian

    Hi Sean, my question what is the difference in sensation of a Luxury Firm with a 14 1/2 mattress and 4 foundation and an 11 1/2 mattress with a 8 foundation?

    • Hey Brian, no difference. The foundations don’t make any difference in comfort at all since they are non-yielding foundations. And both the 14″ and 11″ option will feel the same as well. It’s purely based on what kind of “look” you’re going for.

      • Brian

        Thanks…I did see that same answer in your earlier posts.

  • Melody Hampton Smith

    Hi! I’m on the brink of buying one of these mattresses, but I have a couple of questions that I would like to have answered before I do that the online chatting representative couldn’t answer for me. 1) What is the difference in longevity between the 11.5″ and the 14.5″ mattresses? The spokesperson told me there was none, but I am an engineer and I know there must be a difference in the longevity of long vs. short coils in the support layer. 2) Where I can get a relatively inexpensive fitted mattress cover for either the 14.5″ or 11.5″ mattress cover? Or, rather, where did you get yours? Thanks.

    • Hi Melody, I am not an engineer, but to the best of my knowledge longevity would be the same. The 3″ difference is achieved by reducing 2 turns in each coil of the lower coil unit. So, it’s still a coil-on-coil unit (2 levels of inner-springs), which is substantially more steel than what you would find in most mattresses. Most wear in a mattress happens on the top layers over time anyway, the springs are often barely affected, especially tempered steel. As far as the protector…I actually have a link in the last paragraph of this post that takes you to a good, inexpensive protector by a company called “Luna” on amazon. It will fit either thickness.

  • Allen Carter

    How is this mattress for transmitting movement by a sleeping partner.

    • Considering that it’s a dual level inner-spring system, it’s actually surprising how stable it is. There is the *slightest* bit of motion transfer however, though it’s barely noticeable.

      • Allen Carter

        Because Casper has a long try out trial, I ordered one. If Casper doesn’t workout I will order the Saatva. The cost differential was almost $500 between the two mattresses so it was a “no-brainer” on which to go with first.

        • Marcus

          That’s what I did. Casper wasn’t a good mattress for us. We have ordered the plush soft and hopefully we’ll feel better in the mornings with it.

          • Steve

            Marcus, how do you like the plush soft? I need a medium firm but from reviews on here people think even the lux firm is too firm. I want comfort but support at the same time.

  • Jim Carlson

    The foam on this bed, I am assuming, is just as good as all the variants of latex being touted. I only ask, because I am looking at a new bed, and the 14 year old CCC bed, which was amazing, is just tired. We see other non brand/ off brand beds in the store, but none seem to stick with the original foams, they all have 5-7 different layers of latex… The Foam is just as good I take it. I am looking at the California King Version of what you have. Also, we have a wood bed frame, and the slats are yielding, any suggestions on where to get new additional wood slats?

    • Hi Jim. I just want to clarify what you’re asking here. I’m not 100% sure what you mean by the CCC bed, can you tell me what that stands for? And that is what you have now, correct? Can you also tell me what store you’re referring to, and what mattresses have 5-7 layers of latex?

      • Jim Carlson

        CCC was an OLD Spring Air model, it stood for Comfort Caress Collection. The models I saw with all the latex were posturpedics, the one I looked at the most was a spinal care Bodipedic Box Top. I really didn’t understand the benefit of so many layers of differing types of latex.

  • Brian

    How long has this mattress been available on the market? I’m looking for at least 5 year data on how the mattress holds up vs sagging. I can’t afford another mattress going bad after a few years

    • I hear ya. They’ve been around since 2010.

  • Heather C.

    Hi Sean,
    We’re thinking of getting the Saatva Luxury firm, but are wondering how it compares to the Posturpedic Luxury Plush Pillowtop. Do you know? We already got a Serta Icomfort that we had to return because of terrible off-gassing. We’re a little nervous about ordering something we haven’t seen or lain on, but if you could tell us the feel of it in comparison to others, that would be very helpful. I need something firm but soft, my husband likes soft. Relatives said the posturpedic worked for them at the hotel they stayed in and they have the same preferences as us. Thanks so much!

    • Hi Heather, sorry about the delay. I can’t really comment on comfort comparisons to posturepedic’s because there’s just so many models within the Sealy line, and to make it worse the models are different across the country. Too much variation + different model names make it almost impossible. I can tell you that there is no comparison when it comes to overall construction. This is a dual innerspring system (coil-on-coil), the posturepedics are a single level.

      • Heather C.

        Thanks Sean, I totally understand. Based just on the great trial period and the fact that they don’t charge a 15% re-stocking fee if it doesn’t work out for us, we think we’ll go ahead and try the Saatva. Here’s hoping it works well for us!

        • Richard Lay

          Heather,
          How did you like the Luxury Firm mattress?
          Thanks, Richard

          • Nancy Whitfield

            This isn”t Heather, but we just got our Saatva luxury firm cali king bed a week ago and love it. I had to remove the poly filled mattress protector that caused overheating. We now use two cotton sheets over the mattress. Love it so far…plan on turning the bed as instructed and if it as any point within the warranty time begins to sag more than 1.5 inches, we will return the bed. In the meantime we’re going to baby our extremely comfortable new bed.

  • Deborah Dwyer

    Hi Sean,
    We’re seriously considering this mattress, but wonder if we really need the box springs. We’re planning on using it on our steel four-poster (Room and Board) bed which is what we’ve used with our old innerspring (honestly can’t remember the brand!) for the past 10 years. Any opinion on this?

    • Hi Deborah. Does your four-poster bed require a box spring/foundation? If so, then yes. It’s always good to have a matching set when you get a new mattress. Plus, older boxsprings may not comply with the

      federal mattress flammability standard, 16 CFR Part 1633, which went into effect on July 1, 2007.

      More here: http://www.sleepinglikealog.com/mattresses/mattress-101/foundation-or-box-spring/

      • Deborah Dwyer

        Sorry I wasn’t clearer about that – no, it does NOT require a box spring. I guess my question really should have been “Does this mattress work well on platform beds?”

        • Ah, yes. It will absolutely work on a platform bed.

  • Dana N

    We are choosing between a Saatva and a Casper. I know it’s a little bit like comparing apples and oranges, but I’m wondering if there is any way to compare the memory foam+latex vs a more traditional innerspring? Is the “future” of mattress really in foam? What are the advantages of the innerspring? We have tried, and not liked TempurPedic, but are very intrigued by Casper’s combination of materials. But maybe that means we like the traditional spring mattress feel, and we should go with Saatva.

    • Hey Dana. It’s hard to really compare spring-free mattresses to innerspring beds because they’re so different. The ‘future’ isn’t so much in foam as it is in bypassing the traditional process of buying a mattress in a store. Advantages of innerspring are durability, longevity and spinal support. No matter what any one company says, metal will always be stronger than foam.

  • Randall Pruitt

    OK..So our pillow top is waaay top saggy and old so i purchased a memory foam mattress from costco and it feels like I am sleeping on a 12″ layer of sand that barely gives at the major areas of stress…hips,shoulders, head…Way too firm and completely opposite of the review i read. Really considering the Saatva medium mattress and think I will proceed based on your detailed review and the fact that you own one. I always thought i would want a memory foam due to my back problems but after three nights I am miserable. Hope to come back and post some great comments to reconfirm your findings.

    Thanks

    Sleepless in Seattle

    • Looking forward to it Randall!

  • Jennifer R.

    Sean – I purchased a Saatva mattress (and a Luna premium protector) based solely off your review! I had never even heard of Saatva before but was instantly interested due to its high-end construction and eco-friendly materials at a good price point. I’ve been sleeping on my new Saatva for 2 weeks and it’s amazing. I’m sleeping better than ever and I just adore this bed. To others out there debating whether or not to buy this mattress: Sure it’s a little bit of a gamble but with the return policy, I took the risk and I’m so very happy that I did.

    PS – my elderly dog loves this mattress too.

    • That’s great to hear Jennifer! Glad you like it.

  • Dave Robbins

    Have been through 3 beds in the last 10 years and now leaning towards an ultra-firm that has a foam-padding layer (not pillow-top). But am concerned about true comfort. I’m light and a stomach and side sleeper. My wife’s a bit heavier and a back sleeper. Past beds were hurt my back when on my stomach or caused me to roll into my wife’s side. Really need some advice regarding Saatva, which we just discovered. A Saatva rep recommended the luxury firm, but said there was a yet firmer model. What’s best given all considerations? Wondering if I should ditch a good deal on the ultra-firm and give Saatva a try.

    • Hi Dave, so sorry about the delay! I generally advise against the extremes on both sides of the spectrum, ultra firm and ultra soft, unless there is some kind of medical condition that requires one or the other. Balance is key when it comes to mattresses. You want the firmness from within because that’s where you get support, but you also want at least some padding on the surface for comfort and to help conform to the body. In my opinion, the luxury firm is a great combination of support and comfort. You could do the ‘firm’ model, but I would lean towards the luxury firm, which is still plenty firm for most people.

  • Dorothy Benson

    I noticed that the Saatva mattress was mentioned by name in the film “Gone Girl”, which was interesting. You don’t hear other mattress brands mentioned in big Hollywood pictures. Someone must have been impressed by the product and put it in the script.
    Can’t wait for mine to arrive.

    • Haha, that is pretty interesting. I might just have to check “Gone Girl” out! Was it any good?

      • Dorothy Benson

        Hey Sean
        The folks at Saatva were quick to let me know I heard the wrong name…it was Sauvoir(sp?) which is a very high end mattress product) and they graciously thanked me for my endorsement but wanted to be sure not to take credit for some confusion. Says something about them that makes you think this is a company to do business with. I really love the concept they represent and hate mattress commercials. I want to see these kinds of people succeed in transforming the marketing of one of life’s essentials, a decent bed.. There is no reason a bed needs to set you back $3K.

  • Tom Ryan

    I weigh 250 pounds and was wondering if the luxury firm would provide enough support or if I should go with the standard firm. primarily a back sleeper and wife is a stomach sleeper.

    • Hey Tom, you’ll actually get the same support on either one. They both use the same cooperating coil systems, which is where the support comes from. Only difference is in the very top laying. You actually could go either way, either the firm or luxury firm. I would lean towards the luxury firm, but you could always do the firm knowing you could soften it with a pad or topper if you had to.

      • Tony

        Sean, I weigh 350 and am a back sleeper because of sleep apnea and a C-pap machine and my wife weighs 250 and is a side sleeper. Do you think the Luxury Firm would work for us in the king mattress?

        • I’d probably do the ‘firm’ model, then perhaps use a separate topper for additional padding (if you need it) that you can just replace when it wears out.

  • Mike

    Hi Sean, thanks for the Saatva review. I just happened to stumble upon their website and then found your convincing argument shortly thereafter. I think I’m going to go with trying it out given the relatively low downside. Hopefully I love it like I expect to. One thing I wanted to ask was about the mattress protector. Do you always feel that is necessary for any mattress? I’d just hate to hinder any of the natural benefits of a good mattress like this one with a cover over it. Very much appreciate the insights. Mike.

    • Hey Mike. Yup, I consider a protector essential. A super thin protector won’t hinder the mattress. Quite the contrary, they will enable the mattress to give all of the comfort benefits for much longer than not using one at all. You don’t have to use the one I recommend of course, there’s lots of good protectors out there.

      For example, since the Saatva uses an organic cotton cover, you could use a protector that’s also 100% organic cotton with no polyurethane backing. So you’d really just be doubling up on the organic cotton on the surface. Coyuchi makes one that I’ve been meaning to check out here: http://bit.ly/1r60bE2

      • Mike

        Thanks for the response Sean. If you think the Luna would work well I’ll probably roll with that given the price difference.

  • Charles Boyd

    Thanks for all your information Sean. My wife and I are going to give the Saavta a try. our 12 year old Stearnes and Foster is on it’s last leg. Quick question – do I need to purchase a new base or are the box springs that came with our S&F sufficient? Thanks!

    • Hi Charles. I would, yes. As a general rule I recommend replacing foundations if you’ve had it for more than 8 years or so.

  • Mike

    Hey Sean, me again. Assuming this is the case but would you recommend buying the foundation and frame from Saatva as well or look elsewhere for those pieces?

    • Mike

      Also, would the foundation and frame you recommend with the Casper work for the Saatva if I were to return the Casper and go with the Saatva down the line?

      • Hey Mike, having a matching mattress/foundation is always a good thing. Keep in mind that Saatva uses a non-yielding foundation, so technically any non-yielding foundation would work. The Simple Life folding foundation would work as well, as well as the bed frame.

  • Stacey O.

    We received our Luxury Firm a few days ago after ready all of the wonderful reviews. However, it is soooo firm that we’re going to return it for the Soft Plush (?) and are very hopeful to have a better experience. Perhaps it’s just our mattress but it has the give of a Tempurpedic which is too stiff for us. Did you find that or is it possible we received the wrong level?

    • Hi Stacey, I didn’t find that it was too stiff but you could check the law tag on the end of the mattress to confirm what model it is. It will say either ‘luxury firm’ or ‘firm’ on the tag. The Plush Soft is softer which may work better for you.

  • Peter Martinez

    Couple of unique questions for you Sean, how stable is the bed when you are sitting on the side’s? Do you sink into the bed when you sit on top or they hold their own. Also if I’m waking up in the middle of the night and getting out of bed will the bed have extra movements without my wife noticing?

    • It’s VERY stable on the sides Peter. The edge support is really good. As far as your second question, getting out of bed in the middle of the night will generate a bit of motion, but not a lot.

  • Cynthia Jordan

    Sean, I purchased our first Saatva bed yesterday and we are excited to receive it. My question is how can there be no difference in feel between the 11 1/2 and the 14 1/2 top? I can understand that the only difference between the 4 and 8 foundation is looks but not the top. Please advise.

    • Hi Cynthia, the only difference between the 11.5 and the 14.5 is they remove 2 turns in each coil on the lower coil unit. It’s just not enough to cause a difference in feel considering you’re directly on top of the pocketed coil system. There’s a ton of steel in there. Which one did you get?

      A polyurethane barrier can cause some people to get hot, yes. It is actually breathable (it’s a semipermeable barrier), but it’s hard to make a protector waterproof without some sort of thin layer of polyurethane. There are other options out there that don’t use one, but they’re generally not waterproof. For example, a cotton & wool based protector is an alternative that won’t get hot.

      • Cynthia Jordan

        I got the 14 1/2 with the 4 ” foundation because our last bed is a little too high. Got a King….we have had only Queens and figure we deserve something with more room as we “mature”.

  • Bryan

    Hi Sean,

    Just read your review of Saatva and my wife and I are thinking of giving it a try. Quick question regarding which level of firmness to get. We had shopped around a few stores in our area and kept resorting to the Simmons Beautyrest Recharge World Class Pillowtop. Do you know which level of firmness from Saatva we should pick that closely resembles the Beautyrest? Thanks for the writeup and your help!

    Bryan

    • Hey Bryan. It wouldn’t be an exact match, but the ‘plush soft’ would be the closest. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving.

  • Gisele Fowle

    Good am

    LOVE your site- – Thanks for all the good info
    We are looking to buy a new mattress- If age has anything to do with it we are both over 50….
    I sleep on my side and tummy- My husband sleeps on his side and back –
    Looking at the Saatva and the Casper- …Leaning towards the Saatva-
    Suggestions??

    Also we have a box spring under our current mattress- Is it necessary to get a new foundation- It is at least 10 plus years old

    Also can you answer the age old question… How long should you keep a mattress????
    Thanks and have a nice day

    • Hi Gisele, I see that you emailed me as well so I replied to your email with a few questions. – Sean

  • Michelle

    I am thinking of buying the plush soft Saavta mattress. I am a back and stomach sleeper. I like a soft bed but, I don’t like to feel the mattress is wrapped around me. What mattress can I try at a store to get the feel of the plush soft Saavta?

    • I haven’t tried the plush soft so I couldn’t really give you an accurate comparison. But I do know that it isn’t super ultra soft, so it won’t feel like it’s wrapping around you like something in the 9 or 10 range would on my scale of 1 to 10.

      • Michelle

        Mr Fry,
        Thank you so much for responding to me.
        Michelle

  • Cynthia Jordan

    Sean,. Well we finally got our Luxury Firm King and love it…had some issues with delivery of mattress and foundation and then again with the frame. Saatva was very supportive and concerned with their delivery company in my state and I so appreciated all their phone contact with me. My concern is that while I love the mattress, my husband is thinking that it isn’t firm enough. I know about their guarantee but I would hate to have them swap out the Luxury Firm for the Firm only to realize that the Lux Firm was better. Thoughts? Are there many out there that get the Firm? It seems like most do get the Lux Firm. I would love to find someone in my city that has one to try for few minutes (even to it isn’t long enough) to see the difference but I know that would be a breach of confidentiality to give me names.

    • Cynthia – there are people who get the firm, yes. But the overwhelming majority get the luxury firm from what I understand. I would say sleep on it and allow your backs to adjust to it a bit, then after a couple weeks see if you still think you’d want the firm model. Something to keep in mind is that the top layers of padding do not interfere with the support you’re getting from within. It actually helps to conform and fill in the gaps along the body.

      • Cynthia Jordan

        Thanks so much for your reply Sean. We will give it a couple weeks. Does the Firm allow for less motion? I feel the bed move every time my husband does.

        • No problem. Motion would be the same with both since they’re using the same spring system and because there isn’t that significant of a difference between the top layers. Sometimes having additional layering on the surface can diminish motion a bit (like with a pillowtop), but it’s always been a challenge with innersprings because that’s where the movement is coming from — from within.

      • eric

        I bought the luxury firm and after a month asked to change it to firm. Much much better. I expected this firmness in the original one but the firm model is perfect for my wife and I. We felt Luke we were sinking in too much. The sleep was much better on both but our enjoyment factor is much better ( wink wink).

  • design2host

    Sean, This blog is wonderfully done. Great reviews and most of all i like the way its all placed. I am a Designer myself and was searching for Saatva mattresses. This one is a real heads up. Thank you for the great info. Am sure that there would have been a lot of people who would have benefited from this website!

  • Cynthia Jordan

    Hello Sean….Well, here I am again. We have slept on the Luxury Firm now for little over a week. I was changing the sheets and noticed that there is an indentation on the side my husband sleeps on. Granted, he weighs 200 and I’m about 110…I turned the mattress pad around thinking that might be the problem but when I run my hand over the mattress, there is a definite dent. Otherwise I love it.

    • Mr Neutron

      I’m interested in these but concerned by the apparently “normal” indentations in foam … I’m used to innerspring mattresses with good rotation & flipping every few months lasting 10 years easily but the foam indentation issue is a concern.

  • Jim

    can I use my thick metal bedframe even though it doesn’t have a middle support? It handles queen size and seems sturdy.

    • No sir, you definitely need a center support.

      • Jim

        OK, thanks!

  • Ben Craig

    Sean, I am having a hard time deciding between this mattress and the Casper. I currently have a firm Serta that is about 3 years old. I believe that I had a 5/6 of 10 firmness on the mattress I had most of my life and have not developed lower back/hip pain (has gotten progressively worse since I moved states and switched mattresses, but could also be getting older). Also, I have a boxspring (3 years old) on top of a bed frame that has slats, so would I need the foundation for this mattress, or would it work on my existing one? My main goal is to alleviate my back/hip pain that I get while sleeping at night…thanks!

    • Hey Ben, you can use this on your existing box, yes. But I have a question…when you say slats, do you mean wood slats, like what you would see on a platform bed? Or just one or two that stretch across the middle?

      • Ben Craig

        There are about 7 of them (put them in myself) that are on the wood frame like a platform bed. Thanks!

        • I see. Sounds like you had a good reason for doing that, but yeah you can use your existing boxspring. 3 years old is still pretty new.

  • Bruce Galvin

    For the past 40+ years my wife and I have slept on a water bed. It is time to make a change with my lower back giving me problems. We want to retain the waterbed base where the waterbed matress is supported. It is about 8″ deep. The platform is 60″x80″, the same as the queen size matress but not sure the Saatva mattress can squeee into base down 8″. It would be a very tight fit and not sure there is any give in he Saatva matress? Any thoughts?

    • Hmm, good question. Sometimes waterbed bases can be tricky. Is 60″x80″ the measurements of within the base where the bed would fit in?

      • Bruce Galvin

        Yes, the inside dimensions of the water bed base is 60″ x 80″. Is the mattress exactly this side too?

        • Ok good, it should work then. Yeah, queen is 60 x 80 but typically measure slightly less than that.

          • Bruce Galvin

            Good news. Now that I know it will fit need your best guess about firmness for someone that has slept on waterbed for last 40 years and has a sore lower back?

          • I’d lean towards the luxury firm.

          • Bruce Galvin

            Sean, I just saw your review of the Casper mattress. I am thinking this might solve our problem of getting the mattress upstairs since it does not come with a base. I assume it could fit right inside our waterbed platform base. If I read correctly the Casper mattress comes in a compressed form in box and once openned the mattress expands to fit space.

            From what you know about us sleeping on a waterbed for 40 years how do you think the Casper fits in to our situaton compared to the Saatva? Even with a split platform I m not sure can get the Saatva base to our upstairs bedroom on steep steps.

            Thanks a bunch.
            Bruce

          • Bruce Galvin

            Sean, I just read about the Leesa matress. It sound very similar to the Casper. Any thoughts about one over the other?

          • Hey Bruce, can you email me a picture of your waterbed platform bed? Seems like the ones I’ve seen don’t actually require a foundation, but it’s been a while. It sounds like you would just place the mattress in yours.

            email: sean [at] sleepinglikealog [dot] com

          • Bruce Galvin

            Here are a couple pictures. Have you looked at the Leesa mattress?

          • Thanks. You don’t actually use a foundation for your bed, so you can go with whatever. Saatva will literally bring it into your house, up the stairs and everything, so its not an issue. Haven’t checked out Leesa.

          • Bruce Galvin

            Hard to see but the waterbed base does sit on a pedistal that is about 8″ high. The Saatva bed frame even if you split it will not make it up our stairs. When we moved in 37 years ago we had to block and tackle the waterbed frame through window upstairs and it was split.

            This is why the Casper and Leesa beds are so attractive to me since they come in a box that we could easily get upstairs. I just want to make sure these matresses will fit within the waterbed frame that is 8″ deep and 60″ x 80″.

          • Bruce Galvin

            One last question – does the box spring split in half so can get up our step stairs and doorway to bedroom?

          • Yup, just select a ‘split queen’ foundation instead of the regular one. Those come in 2 pieces.

          • Bruce Galvin

            Okay – one more question. Is the foundation split length or width wise? Appreciate all your help.

  • Andrew W.

    Hey Sean – We are thinking of moving forward with the Saatva for ta few of the beds in the household. Quick question, is a new foundation required or can the current foundation be reused.

    • How old are the current foundations?

  • Cynthia Jordan

    Hi Sean,
    I wrote to you couple weeks ago and didn’t see a reply. We are almost up to our 45 day warranty period on the Saatva Luxury firm King size. I have noticed indentations on my husband’s side which is concerning. We will rotate the mattress of course but isn’t this a little premature? I did contact the live chat guy at Saatva and he said this is normal….really? After only a month? Please advise.

    • Hey Cynthia, sorry about that. Yup, it is normal for foam and happens to all beds that incorporate foam. I’ve seen it happen within 2 weeks. It’s basically the top layers getting “broken in.” Here’s what’s going on. Foam has unique durability characteristics in that the most wear happens in the beginning of its life, then tapers off. In a lab setting, foam producers test for this very thing using something called a roller shear, which is this heavy rolling weight that they use to repeatedly roll over the foam for 25,000 cycles or so. What they’ve found is that you’ll see the most loss in firmness within the first 1000 cycles, then the wear slows for the rest of the testing. In the real world, this translates to the first 1 to 5 months or so of regular use showing the most changes to the foam, then that tapers off.

      People who weigh more will speed up this process compared to those who weigh less because the greater the weight applied to foam, the quicker this process happens, which is why you’re seeing it on your husbands side first. Keep in mind that if that indention exceeded 1.5″ then it would become a warranty issue.

      • Cynthia Jordan

        Thanks so much Sean. We will make sure the indention is not more than 1.5″ and will rotate mattress as well.

  • Mark

    Sean, I have an 85 year old mother with lower back pain due to having arthritis in her lower back. Would the Luxury Firm be a good choice for her?

    • I would say so, yes. She’ll have the increased firmness in the center third of the bed, though I couldn’t guarantee that her pain would go away. At least the support will be there though and there’s just a bit of padding to help conform, but it’s not too much padding.

    • Mark

      Thank you

  • Kelly

    Sean, I can’t tell you how helpful your site has been! I get SO overwhelmed, confused, and turned off by the mattress buying process. This is a rare treasure trove….thank you! Here’s my situation: I’ve had my current inner spring mattress for almost 12 years. It used to be soooo comfortable, but now it’s awful. I toss & turn all night, my hands get numb when I sleep, and I wake up achy. I don’t have any health problems, I sleep on my side and stomach (mostly side). After reading many of your reviews, I’m believe I’m going with the Saavta….I just can’t quite make the leap to the foam mattresses. I know you recommend the Luxury Firm, but I tend to like mattresses that are kind of soft…like sleeping on a cloud, but with support ~ at least an 8 on your 1-10 scale. I noticed you rated the Plush Soft a 7 – 8. My question is, will the mattress get a little softer after the “break in” period, or not? Thank you.

    • Hi Kelly, thanks for the good words! No it won’t get softer, even after it’s been broken in. As a general rule, increasing the softness of surface layers can really only be achieved through additional layering. It doesn’t happen through normal wear.

      • Bob Ross

        So does that mean the Plush model achieves its extra softness over the Luxury Firm by adding more foam? Wouldn’t this mean the Plush model sleeps a tad hotter than the Firm models?

  • Martin Schwartz

    Sean,

    This post is great as well as your responses to all the subsequent comments and questions. Along those lines, we’re definitely interested in purchasing a Saatva (king size), but are wavering between the luxury firm and firm levels. Both my wife’s and my preference is for a firmer mattress; our current mattress is a 16 year old (!!) Sealy posturepedic- Windso line- that is a pillow top firm and we were looking at Sherwood’s Lumina Cadence Firm mattress in a local shop and liked it. Both of us have some back issues and I sleep on my side and my wife sleeps on her side and stomach. We are leaning toward the firm but would be interested in your advice. Thanks!

  • Tara J.

    This is a GREAT blog – very helpful! Our Queen 11.5″ Luxury Firm is coming Saturday, along with the Luna mattress protector you recommended – very excited! My back has been killing me for the last six months from my 8 year old pillowtop – am hoping this does the trick. I will be sure to update with my review once we get it and sleep on it a while. Thanks!

    • hi Tara, just wondering how you are liking the feel of your luxury firm, i’m trying to decide on the plush soft or luxury firm. wondering if you can give me your input. thanks,

      • Tara J.

        It’s ok. Frankly its a bit firmer than I anticipated. I like a firm base with a softer top. This is pretty firm. But my old mattress was KILLING me, so its definitely an improvement. I’m not sure I would get this one again in hindsight, however. I feel like the 30 days was certainly not long enough to get a real feel for the mattress. In fact, about two weeks ago, my boyfriend asked if I thought it was sagging already. I don’t think that could be possible, but I think he would say ‘it’s alright’ as well. On a scale of 1-5 I’d give it a 3. If you like a squishier top, I’d opt for the plush soft. I wish I had..

        • Hey Tara, thanks for the earlier compliment and thanks for the update. Just so you know, they recently increased their trial period to 75 days. Are you still within that window?

          • Hi Sean, I seem to remember you saying that its easier to make a firm mattress softer, than a soft mattress firmer? is that right or do I have it backwards?

          • Yes, that’s correct. Because you can always put a topper on a firm mattress to soften it up, but there really isn’t much you can do to make a soft mattress feel firmer.

        • do you feel like you sink in at all? does the mattress feel bouncy, springy? or does it feel too firm to be bouncy or sink in?

          • Tara Jakubik

            No, you don’t sink in. there’s bounce to it, but a firm bounce. I’m not displeased with it, I’m just not enamored either. It’s fine. My last pillowtop I LOVED from day 1, but it also only lasted about 8 years. I just got a reply via this site that Saatva has extended its 30 day review to 75 days, which I wish they would have informed me of when it was delivered. I’m right at 75 days at this moment, but in the middle of a bathroom renovation, so can’t deal with having to send back a mattress right now. Not saying I would send back, but I don’t even have the time to consider it right now. If you like a squishy top, I’d go with the plush.

  • Sheryl

    We purchased a Buis mattress set two months ago and although it is very comfortable, we are very unhappy with the motion transfer that goes side-to-side quite abruptly. When one of us is sleeping alone in the bed, it’s perfect. Our own movement does not trigger the jolt. The problem arises when we are both sleeping on the mattress. It feels like the mattress is spring loaded when it moves like that. Even the dog, bumping the base of the bed can trigger it. Buis has agreed to a return and refund and we are now in search of a solution. After many hours of research, I came upon your review of your personal Saatva mattress. We are impressed with what you have to say but have three questions: 1. Do you sleep with a partner so you are able to assess motion transfer and how would you describe the mattress motion with typical rollovers and sleep movements? 2. Is this mattress flippable? 3. What do you think the life of the mattress will be? Thank you!

  • Dream Theater

    Can I just use my existing foundation from the queen sized bed I have now?

  • Bob S

    Hi Sean, and thanks for the very informative site. I’ve had a problem with a new memory foam mattress, which has a 1.5″ latex top layer, overheating at night even when the bedroom is at 70 degrees. With your knowledge of its construction, do you think an 11.5″ Saatva Luxury Firm would sleep as cool as the average coil spring mattress, or maybe even cooler? Would the 14.5″ thicker model make any difference in coolness? Thanks in advance for your help.

  • Michelle Webb

    We have had out mattress for about two weeks. I have slept more on the couch than in the bed as I can barely walk the day after trying to sleep a night in the saatva bed as it has so many pressure points that hurt my back. The exact middle of the bed is almost comfortable but forget about sharing the bed. When my boyfriend rolls on his side it feels like a bar and spring pop up an inch or two on my side and into my hip. We called Saatva yesterday and they said they have been having a lot of problems lately and offered to send us a free mattress topper. I don’t think a topper will fix the broken coil or spring or whatever is popping up. Buyer beware!

  • Robert M

    If you cover with a waterproof cover won’t you sacrifice breathability creating a hot sleep?

  • thanks Sean for the site, just the right amount of information to help make an informed decision. purchased a king sized casper. we had been sleeping on a queen size foam mattress, which was giving us pains in our shoulders, hips and back. I went with the casper because of price, and the description of the product, trial period and return policy. I would say the first week most of our pains were gone, but hubby still suffered from shoulder pain (which could be because of his job). however after 28 days, I am feeling a return of some pains, (lower back/hip), and am now considering going with the saava (my original gut choice). is the saatva plush soft means it has a pillowtop on it or is that just the general “feel” of the mattress. I remember something you said about “growing up on an old school spring mattress” that nagged me into thinking maybe that’s what my body is craving – that “springy” feel, which I thought I might have gotten from the casper, but I don’t feel any “give” from the casper, true it is a softer feel than our foam, but still too solid/firm a feel for me. so again, any thoughts from you or others on the difference between plush soft and luxury firm saatva mattress?

  • Benny

    I am considering buying two twin Saavta mattresses. What is your exoerience with Saavta delivery and removal of old mattresses. I live in Easton, MD. Will mattresses be delivered by contractors or an affilated Saavta company?

    • Hi Benny, it’s super easy. Saatva contracts out to local delivery companies to make the deliveries. They’ll call you and you pick the delivery date. They will deliver and remove your old mattress & foundation.

  • Benny

    Thank you for the quick response

  • Bill Edge

    How is it for an old guy that sleeps on his stomach, and wake up with low back pain daily. Have a $1300 sears mattress about 3 years old

  • Don’t fall for the plant based foam lies. it’s made of 70% polyurethane foam. Which is petroleum and is toxic.

  • Foam is 76% polyurethane. Plant based? lol

  • Sue

    Thanks for the review Sean! I am definitely looking into this mattress. My husband has lower back issues though and all our mattresses have had sagging in the middle problems. I think it is due to the bed frame more than anything however since it doesn’t have center support. Do you know about how long this mattress would last with a good frame with center support, regular rotating, and a thin pad? Thanks!

  • hey, sean, i’m getting ready to return my casper, and purchase a saatva. question: I found the casper too firm (not hard), creating shoulder and arm issues for me and hubby. how do you think the saatva luxury firm would feel in comparison? the same or should I order the plush soft?

    • Hi Connie, the lux firm and the casper are basically the same firmness. The overall ‘feel’ is completely different, but essentially the same level of firmness. I put them both at a ‘5’ on my scale of 1 to 10. So, if you want a softer feel, the plush soft is definitely softer.

      • thanks Sean by the way I went with your recommendation for the foundation and mattress protector and frame. all of them just as great as you said.

  • Brenda Ripley

    Is there a difference in the 14 1/2 mattress or 11 1/2 for comfort
    thanks Brenda

    • Jennifer Kenway

      “…And zero difference between the 11.5″ and 14.5″ models in feel Just a matter of the look you’re going for.”

      Sean’s response to an earlier post. =)

  • Jennifer Kenway

    Hi Sean,
    I’m looking in purchasing the luxury firm 11.5″ King size mattress. I want to place it on a platform bed. Any that you recommend? Opting out on the foundation doesn’t make a difference in support/comfort, correct? Thanks!

  • Don Johnson

    The Great Queen size Saatva Luxury Firm Flagship Mattress

    When we contacted Saatva for
    information, we spoke to Ed Brians. Ed was so helpful with his
    recommendations. We were most impressed by the lengthy time he took to ask
    about how we were sleeping, what if any problems we were experiencing with our
    current bed, and what we were expecting of a new bed. He listened
    carefully and by the time we finished our conversation, there was no
    doubt that Saatva would soon be in our home.

    The Saatva bed arrived on Wednesday the 28th at 9:30
    AM, a half hour earlier than the delivery service scheduled. The delivery men were courteous, efficient,
    and very complimentary about Saatva and how happy other customers were when they
    delivered to them. They presented a very
    positive impression of your company.

    Terri and I
    cannot believe how wonderful our Saatva bed is; so plush, so full, and oh so
    comfortable. Perhaps the best way to
    describe why we say this is to list the following…

    Before Saatva:

    Both Terri and I
    would wake up with pain in our necks, backs and sides, swearing that we needed
    to get a new bed. I would spend what
    little time I tried sleeping by tossing, turning, and moaning out loud every
    hour or so “O my back”: Terri
    said that I was flopping around like a fish out of water. Terri who suffers from Cerebral Palsy and
    chronic neck pain from a few disks replacements could never find a comfortable
    position to sleep in. And my restlessness only made it worse for her; so much
    so, that she took to sleeping on a reclining chair in the living room, which
    made things even worse; both of us would only sleep for about four hours a
    night and wake up sore and grumpy, not a nice or healthy way to start the day.

    After Saatva:

    We anticipated
    the first night in the bed would not go so well as we might need to get use to
    sleeping on a new bed, boy-O-boy were we wrong! Terri slept from 11:00 PM to 9:30 AM the next morning, waking up
    refreshed and pain free. Exclaiming she
    couldn’t believable how comfortable our new Saatva was; and that she didn’t
    feel me tossing or turning at all. She
    slept an unbelievable ten hours, which was unheard of before our new bed!

    Where I normally
    only sleep about four hours (torturously), I slept in a deep, peaceful, single
    position for seven hours; something I haven’t experienced for many years. I woke up without any of the usual pains,
    invigorated, and ready to face the day.
    A peaceful, healthy, and happy nights sleep. Unreal!

    We were so happy
    with our new Saatva, that on Thursday afternoon we took a three hour nap, just
    because it felt so good. If we feel
    this rested in only two nights with our Saatva, image how great we’re going to
    feel after a week, a month, a year!

    Thank you Saatva, and thank you ED;

    Don & Terri
    Johnson

  • BethE

    Hi Sean, We’ve decided to go with the Saatva over the Casper, as we think we would prefer having the innerspring support. We have one of the old waterbed frames with storage drawers underneath. Our boxspring and mattress sit on a 1″ piece of plywood, with triangle shaped cut outs all the way down (our support from a previous home-made platform bed). Would this be sufficient support for the saatva mattress or do we need the foundation? We will be getting the luxury firm, queen size. Thanks for your input.

    • Hi Beth, I’m not a fan of using old waterbed frames. You probably don’t want to hear this, but I would get rid of it. There also might be a potential warranty issue there, so you can always ask Saatva about it and see if there would be any warranty conflicts with the waterbed frame.

      • BethE

        What about the waterbed frames do you dislike, Sean? We’ve been using it for years with the addition of the 1″ plywood w/cutouts, underneath the boxspring and it has been fine. Why would this possibly void the warranty?

        • Well, they’re not designed for use with a traditional mattress & boxspring. They were only designed with waterbed use in mind. That’s why I’m suggesting you check with them first. I don’t want to tell you “Yes, it will be fine.” I’m just not sure if the triangle shaped cut outs will work for them. They might even ask you to send them pics so they can see what you did with yours. They’ll want to see that the center support is good enough. Virtually all manufacturers require the use of a proper metal bed frame with 5 or 6 legs and a center support, or a platform bed with a center support. Modified waterbeds is “iffy.”

  • anacoluthon

    I’d like to check out this mattress, but I’m wondering if the Luxury Firm would be too soft. I have a queen Leesa. I like it, but it’s slightly too soft, and it doesn’t have any edge support whatsoever. I’ve heard the Leesa rated for softness as a 6 (with 10 being firmest…on your scale, do you rate 10 as softest?).

    Are there any mattresses that you’d recommend like the Saatva’s quality/value, that have good edge support, and are firmer than the Leesa?

  • Renee

    Hi, I just found this sight. We were ready to buy a Stearns & Foster Luxury cushion firm Edie model. Do you know how Saatva compares to that?
    Thanks.

  • Rob

    Hi Sean, thanks for this website and all your reviews. I am currently interested in the Saatva Loom and Leaf memory foam mattress… Any chance that this model will be on your site in the near future?

    Mainly I am trying to find a budget friendly quality mattress that has a sink in feeling but not really quicksand I think and for multiple sleep positions which can work with an adjustable base. I know a tall order lol. Thanks!

  • Jennifer Kenway

    Hi Sean,

    Hoping you can answer this for me.

    I’m looking in purchasing the luxury firm 11.5″ King size mattress. I want to place it on a platform bed. Any that you recommend? Opting out on the foundation doesn’t make a difference in support/comfort, correct? Thanks!

  • Kmj

    What are your thoughts on Prana mattresses?

  • dp135

    I loved the review and was glad I found it after finding Saatva online. I am torn about the comfort level. I do not like super hard mattresses and I dislike a pillow top we have.I start out sleeping on my stomach try to sleep on my side – although I do wake up on my back. I am tossing and turning like crazy.
    The return is great but I would like to get it right the first time.

  • Tiana Barrand Van Dyke

    So i’ve been doing a ton of research and trying out and it seems like its a confusing mess now. Anyways we bought the Leesa 2 weeks ago and they put theirs at 6.5 (10 being firmest) and its way to firm for my hips and hot when I sleep, I’m ready to return it. That being said I’m wondering if the luxury firm is about the same level and if I should go with the plush one?

  • Dave Fryatt

    Hi Sean, I hope you are still there? Looking at this Luxury firm option in a King. How heavy is the mattress and is it flexible enough to get up the stairs without damaging the coils?

    • Not sure about the exact weight in a king, but you can get it upstairs no problem. Definitely a 2-man job.

  • Kim Kline

    I went to matress land and they have a computer that analyzes your bods on a mattress and then suggests the firmness. It said I needed something about a 1.5 on a scale of 0 to 4 I think it was. He showed me 3 matresses. The one I liked the best was a Sterns & Foster Lux Estate Hybrid Luxury Firm (Sterns and Foster name) or also called Lewisfield (Matress Land name). You wouldn’t happen to know which one that would compare to in the Saatva.

    • Hi Kim, sorry I don’t. It’s just impossible for me to keep up with all the various model names for S&F across the country. But none of them really directly compare anyway since they aren’t built the same way, it’s sort of an apples to oranges comparison.

  • HI Sean–thanks for your great resource here! I just bought the Stearns and Foster Luxury Firm from the Estate collection and feel that it’s too soft, and am also really troubled by the off-gassing. Is this Saatva luxury firm firmer than the one I currently have and want to return? Should I go with the Luxury firm Saatva or the firm? I am a back and side sleeper. Thanks!

    • Hi Jennifer, unfortunately I can’t give you a definitive answer. There’s some variation in firmness within the Estate collection so I can’t say for sure. I can tell you at one retailer in my area, one felt about 2 notches softer, at another retailer, their luxury firm felt firmer. This is what happens when brands don’t have any consistency with their lineups at various retailers. But I would go for the firm only if you know for sure you want something fairly firm. Otherwise, I’d go lux firm. Hope this helps.

  • Phil Chavez

    Hi Sean. I purchased a Leesa about 60 days ago and although I am pleased with it, it is not the best sleep I have ever had and was considering giving the Saatva a test run for a month before making my decision. Have you tried a Leesa? Just wanted your thoguhts…

  • Jamie H

    Hi Sean,
    Does the frame choice change the feel of the bed? If so, what do you recommend? And are you still happy with your Saavta mattress?
    Best,
    Jamie

    • The bedframe really only affects the overall stability and helps with weight distribution, so it does have a very slight affect on overall ‘feel,’ but not so much comfort, if that makes sense. I do recommend getting a good quality frame, for sure. Check my recommended products page for the bedframe I like. The stronger the bedframe, the better, imo.

      http://www.sleepinglikealog.com/recommended-products/

      If it were up to me, I would make a few minor changes to the Saatva. But I’m somewhat of a perfectionist and I know that no mattress is perfect. But yeah, it’s solid. I still trip out that they make a coil on coil unit bed for 899.

  • Myron

    Great objective review! Saw it online, seemed very authentic and became interested. I love getting the best value for what appears to be a luxury mattress.

  • JoAnn

    I have a new platform bed. Is this mattress, without the box spring a right choice? thanks,

  • Phil

    Can I use the saatva matress w/o a box spring, but on those wooden planks from ikea? Phil

    • You’re talking about the platform beds that have those European style “bowed” slats, right? It will work, yes.

  • Marcus

    Thanks for the review. We bought a Casper and it has been nothing but aches and pains (back spasms for my side-sleeping wife…ugh) for the first 60 days even with the soft pad they sent after 30 days. Since you rated this and the Casper at a 5 for firmness, we opted for the Saatva Plush Soft. We are hoping it works for us. Thanks again!

    • Taylor

      How did it work out? Thinking about purchasing the Saatva and I am on the fence about the firmness. Thank you!

  • bobby

    I want this mattress but they don’t ship to Hawaii

  • Tatiana

    Hi Sean – great and informative review. Quick question. My husband and I bought a Casper but after a couple of months, it’s just misses being firm enough for us. Wondering if you believe the Saatva Luxury Firm is firmer than the Casper, or about the same? If it is not firmer, we might go for the Saatva firm. Btw, we are both lightweight, about 110 and 140lbs, side and stomach sleepers. Thanks for any advice!

    • Hi Tatiana, to me they are the same firmness, but the feel is very different. I put them both at a 5 on my scale of 1 to 10.

  • Mollie Akhavan

    Great review! I have a metal frame and box spring. I won’t have to purchase a 4″ base right? I can just place right over? Is there a benefit to buying their foundation? I am thankful for your mattress protection links and will be purchasing. Do you recommend any bedbug mattress protector?

    • If your foundation is fairly new, you’ll be fine. If it’s older, then you might want to replace it. Foundations can go bad over time and develop weak points. As far as bedug protector, most are good. Look for one with a quality buglock zipper, like the one Protect-A-Bed makes or Luna protectors.

  • Phillip Bishop

    I’m torn between this one and the Loom and Leaf. We are currently on a Seally Optima hybrid so we are not necessarily memory foam or innerspring people. I always start on my back and end up on my side, which causes hip pain. Any recommendations?

  • gary leibowitz

    my saavta mattress is very comfortable, however its has sunken on both sides leaving a pronounced bump in the middle. its about six months old.It’s a king size soft

  • Xanthia Gonzales

    Thank you for the review. I’ve been converting everything in my life for the past 5-7 years to as cruelty free, eco friendly and toxic free as possible. It’s time for a new bed and I started researching beds sold at Sleep country with brands like Sealy etc…and I wasn’t impressed. Many beds are way too expensive and hard looking for organic brands. I’ve seen them cost $2200-$4400…way out of my price range. So today I’ve been researching Casper and Saatva. I think I’m fine that Saatva isn’t 100% organic but for the price, and how it looks for comfort I think I would pick it over Casper. I will also be researching the price into Naturepedic which I know are certified organic for mattresses and have a shop in Toronto Canada.

  • Daniel

    Hi Sean, just curious how the bed frame that goes along with these mattresses are?

  • Tinley Park retired Fed

    Scott, I don’t know how to decide between the luxury firm and the firm. And, is there any odor at all? I bought a rubber, natural pad and finally had to get rid of it because the smell never went away.

  • Robert P

    Often stay at Marriott hotels and both of us love the beds. Which SAATVA model would be comparable as far as firmness v. comfort??

  • gionna

    I bought a firm king mattress from you last year. We loved the mattress until we started getting this hump in the middle. Now the hump is just getting annoying. Is there anyway to get rid of it?

  • Julie Lindemuth

    Thanks so much for your resources and reviews. Very eye opening glimpse into the mattress industry! Just purchased a Saatva twin xl, and your recommended cover. Hoping THAT will be an eye CLOSING experience. 😀

  • Brenna Foley

    Hello Sean,
    I have seen your review on the Saatva Luxury Firm mattress and would like to purchase the 11.5″ mattress and the 8.75″ foundation. I have purchased a Mission style oak bed frame and headboard. My concern is the brackets and bolts used to put together the bottom frame. The bolts for each corner stick out about a 1/4″. I am worried the foundation will not fit because of this. I have attached pics.
    Thank you for any suggestions on this.
    Brenna

  • ColeyK

    Do they carry any mattresses that work with an adjustable base?

  • Jennifer Palmason Kaiton

    I’m so glad I did some research before going to Sleep Train this President’s Day weekend. My husband and I are going to get the Saatva for sure.

  • Samuel

    Hey there. My wife and I have decided that we are going to purchase the Saatva Luxury Firm mattress. However, I have a question about something I read from you further down in the comments. You mentioned that pillows can play a big role in sleep quality. Can you speak to that some more, please? Thanks!

  • Gladys Yam

    Hi Sean – love your site. Very informative! I’m interested in getting the Saatva and was wondering about longevity. The problem with mattresses is they eventually sag – the inferior ones earlier than later. How does Saatva hold up? How long have you had yours? Thanks for your help!

  • Mark Hersman

    I’m considering the thinner Queen and the 4″ base. I have a dog that sleeps with me and I want him to be able to jump up ok. it the thinner setup as comfortable as the thick set? Thanx

    • Hey Mark, yes, it will be the same.

  • George Grosshandler

    My biggest concern is regarding the relative firmness. I have been thinking I might want the extra firm mattress, but I see some say the middle one is plenty firm. You haven’t compared those two, so, do you have any ideas about that?

  • Cauly H

    Desperately in need of perfect mattress. Have tried 3 different kinds over last 7 years and all complete failures. Im a survivor of 2 serious auto accidents in 4 year period. So I am always in severe pain from broken back, nerve damage in leg, then severe whiplash, and now herniated cervical disk. so u can understand my need for that perfect mattress. Need one fast and thinking about trying the SAATVA Luxury Firm…would it be ideal for my physical disabilities? or would it be another failed attempt at some amount of comfort and sleep? plz help?

  • justishao

    I recently purchased a saatva mattress and had a question re the box spring/foundation. Is it necessary to purchase a new saatva box spring/foundation as well even if I already have an old one?

  • Tanni

    Hello! I’m seriously considering buying a Saavta. What kind of foundation would you suggest? I currently use a Sleepmaster Smartbase foundation. With a heavier mattress like Saavta, would that type of foundation be ok? Thank you!

    • I would stick with Saatva’s foundation.

  • EA Sup

    Just pulled the trigger on this! Fingers crossed i’ll love it as much as you do!

  • Cindy S

    My husband and I did a lot of research, including visiting mattress stores and reading much of your website, Sean, to find a good mattress when spending so much money. We appreciate how much you’ve put into informing the public about mattress buying. For us it’s good stewardship of all that the Lord has given us. Buying a Saatva was indeed a good investment. We bought the soft one and are really content. It’s cozy without being mushy if that makes sense. It is soft with good support. Thank you for being honest and forthright. The Saatva company was also wonderful to work with. Thank you again!

  • PatinCali

    Sean, are you still using this mattres? Is so, how is it holding up?

    • Yes. It’s holding up fine, the top layers have definitely broken in as all foam layering does, but it’s held up well.

  • Megan Missale

    Hi Sean. In your review you mentioned the bed doesn’t bend. I want to order a king mattress but I need one that will bend enough to get up a stairway with basically 180 degree turn. I know your review was in reference to an adjustable bed, but got me worried about delivery. Any feedback you could provide on this?

    Thanks for your review and any feedback much appreciated!

    • It can be bent short term, like getting around corners and so forth. Most innerspring mattresses can endure a certain amount of short term bending with no problem, so it would be fine.

  • bandit va

    Are all the same medium firm? Or do they have soft?

    • They also have a plush soft, yes.

  • Denise

    I Have a couple of questions about the Saatva mattress. I have heard that pillowtops are the weak link in mattresses and “break down” before the rest of the mattress. What is has been your experience with this brand?

    I weigh< 100 lbs. and have trouble sleeping due to pain in my hips, lower back shoulders from various injuries. I sleep in all 3 positions but more often on my side. Also, I get hot in the middle of the night. Would you recommend the plush soft or luxury firm. Is the mattress cool, temperature-regulating?

    Your website and videos are very informative.

    • Pillowtops as a design component being “weak links” simply by virtue of being a pillowtop doesn’t make any sense at all. Construction and materials used are more of a factor.

      But the Saatva doesn’t use a pillowtop actually, it’s a eurotop which is a slightly different design and it houses the pocketed coils in the mattress. Very different from a pillowtop. You might like the plush soft, but I can’t say for sure if you weigh less than 100lbs and often experience pain.

      Glad you found my site informative.

      • Denise

        Thank you so much for the information. Yours is one of the best consumer-friendly websites.

  • Jane

    Due to your wonderful informative review Sean, I received my Saatva yesterday. I laid down on it to try it out and woke 2 1/2 hours later!lol There are numerous things I love about it. I like the fact that there are organic materials used, for one thing. The Luxury Firm was just the perfect comfort level for me. I like a firm mattress but one that doesn’t feel as though I’m lying on a wood plank, yet I feel the support under my body mixed with the softness for comfort. I also like that the sides of the mattress are stiff enough that when you sit on mattress you know it is reinforced adequately to prevent the sides from breaking down. I have looked at so many mattress in the last couple of months I myself almost feel like a mattress reviewer!lol Thank you for helping me pick the perfect mattress for me.

  • Phil

    I hate writing negative reviews but felt compelled to do so in this case, especially after spending nearly $1300 for a mattress (with shipping). We’ve had this mattress for 2 years and 4 months. For the past 6mos we’ve noticed body impressions we each of us sleep. This has gotten to where we now have two depressions; very hard under each. According to the written warranty, Saatva will send us a new mattress for $300, plus $99 for shipping – plus we have to get rid of the old one. I feel that for $1400 Saatva should stand behind their product $100%, especially in only far less than 3 years. Sorry, but for all the hype the company gave about the superior quality, we are very disappointed in quality and longevity. BTW, we are not heavy people, but average in weight. Saatva, you let us down.

  • Phil

    A follow up review of the one I just wrote today. The general manager of Saatva, Alex Franklin, just called me to apologize about the condition of our mattress. He has graciously offered to send us a brand new mattress at no cost to us. I feel that he went over and beyond considering that he has a written warranty stating that we would have to pay 1/4 of the original price to have the mattress replaced. Mr. Franklin, you are a rarity – an honest businessman. Thank you very much.
    Saatva does stand behind their product.

  • Lynn

    Hi – I’m confused on whether to buy the Saatva Firm or Luxury Firm? I currently have a Tempurpedic Cloud and find it’s not giving me the lower back support I need. I wake up in a lot of pain. I am basically a side or back sleeper. Can anyone tell me if the Luxury Firm is more firm than the Tempurpedic Clould or the same?

    Thanks,
    Lynn

  • hfm2015

    I want to try this, but I am in between the Luxury Firm and Firm. I just came from Europe and spent 2 weeks sleeping on Sheraton and Westin beds. I believe they have the same signature bed for the entire brand, but I felt the ones in Europe a little bit firmer than the properties in the US. I might be wrong. After doing a little bit o research, I believe their mattress is the Simmons Beautyrest World Class Firm. Which one of the Saatva, Luxury Firm or Firm is the comparable to Simmons World Class?

  • Colin Smith

    After sleeping on a Saatva luxury firm for more than two years, I thought I’d share my experience in case it helps someone else decide.
    Unfortunately I am not very impressed with the mattress. And neither is my wife. While the mattress seems to be well constructed and of a relatively high quality, its performance is very average. To me, it sleeps about as well as our prior mattress, which cost half as much. My wife actually feels that our prior mattress is better than the Saatva. While it is not a bad mattress, I would certainly not purchase this again. One can get much better value for money elsewhere.

  • Neill Ayers

    I purchased a Saatva about a year ago and I have one question. Mine has “sagged” to where it is very obvious that you can see where I sleep. Don’t get me wrong…I still love this mattress but when I put my coverlet on top, you can see the unevenness. Does this seem normal? I have rotated it several times and you can still see where my late husband slept on one side and me on the other. There is a definite “hump” in the middle where we have never slept. Anybody out there have a similar situation????

    • Nancy Whitfield

      Neil..we just purchased our firm luxury mattress and are going to do the recommended instructions. Wondering if you turned the mattress once a month the first 3 months, then after that once every season. I know it’s hard to remember, so I’m putting it on my calendar. The warranty claims that if the sag is 1.5 inches or more, you may return it. If it’s not sagging to that degree, you may want to turn it every couple months to even it out, then each season therafter. I’m a newbie, so just my 2 cents.

  • Nancy Whitfield

    We’ve just ordered the Saatva Luxury Firm California king mattress and are awaiting its arrival. However, we failed to order the box springs as we were planning to use our existing ones. Since reading these comments we’ve checked the box springs and noticed they’re not firm in all areas and that they’ve become uneven while testing without shoes on. So…now we’re about to order them as well. Then we’ll also be covered on the warranty. Thanks for all your advise. We will turn the bed each month for a few months so it breaks in evenly, then each year at daylight savings time. We’ll also cover it with a mattress protector. If we find it needs a bit more comfort down the road, we’ll just add a memory foam topper. But we love the inner spring beds..so we don’t feel we will need to do any additional comfort support. Will report again when it arrives..a month down the road and then each year.

    • Nancy Whitfield

      Update: We received the bed and slept on it for a week and absolutely love it. It’s not too firm and not too soft, but holds every part of your body. I do highly recommend that you do not use a mattress topper with anything other than 100% cotton. We were unbearably hot with ours and chatted online at Saatva and they immediately asked if we had a mattress cover. We checked while they were online. I removed it and lay down on it for a couple of minutes and woohoo! It stayed cool. He nailed it! Our mattress protector had a polyester filler that emitted heat off the foam bed. It was unbearable heat! “Just say No” to polyester! Both my hubby and I love the bed. I will purchase a thin mattress protector to keep the mattress clean. Until then I’ll put two (100% cotton) fitted sheets on the bed. One negative with a positive: The delivery guys couldn’t hold a conversation with me at all. They scratched up our ceiling when they took the old mattress down our stairs. Then also deep gouges on our door frame. I again called saatva online chat. They gave me their direct line to call them personally. I called her and she answered directly. She told me to get an invoice with pictures and send them to her email and they will reimburse us. I will update you. The service at Saatva is incredible! The delivery companies are to local contractors to your area. I suggest you watch and help direct them when they come into your home. Call Saatva if there is any problem. Until later…take care

      • Nancy Whitfield

        Saatva Company is phenomenal! The delivery company that did damage to our front door and wall was repaired and Saatva sent us a check. One more thing…we still love this bed. Remember to turn it every month for 4 months. Then each season. ZZZZZZzzzzzz

  • Memu

    Hi Sean, thanks for a great review. We just orderd our saavta. I like to know if you have any recommendations for pillows. Please help? I can’t wait to sleep well. Thank you!

  • Larry

    Would you feel the luxury firm I’d good for a 325 lb side sleeper or should I do the firm. I currently sleep on a very hard innerspring mattress with a 3″ after market memory foam topper. Not sure if I should start with the firm or luxury firm.

  • Larry

    Do you see any problem if I do 2 twins, a firm for me and a luxury firm for my wife in a king frame. Would I need a strap to hold them together.
    Thanks, Larry

  • Jane Jones

    Hi Sean, I just ordered the Saatva reviewed above and was looking at theLuna cover. It’s only a fitted sheet style. Should I get two in order to cover the bottom of the mattress, too, so that it’s fully enclosed? I just want to keep everything out of the mattress – dust, whatever. Thanks!

    • No need, just get a mattress ‘encasement.’ Those have a zipper and enclose the entire mattress. Luna makes those as well.

  • WILLIAM PRICE

    Worst mattress I have ever bought. Plush soft is what I ordered after many questions. I was told I would sink into it like a taco or as advertised a envelope .I could not sleep on it at all too stiff may back hurt all night. called Saatva to return and guy said it needs to break in and would send me a topper at no charge. I complied. After installing topper I was able to sleep on this but the topper is memory foam and I sweat. Also a fitted sheet will not work. After months of breaking in my mattress I took topper off and tried to sleep without it. still could not get past 1 night of my back not hurting. Now its too late to send it back. Oh by the way I am 265 lbs and I do not come close to sinking in this bed like a taco. I can see it is well constructed but not comfortable at all. Saatva called me the other day and I told her what I just told all of you and what I got was twisted B/S and laughed at. Advise to you is never buy a mattress with out trying it first and do not believe guarantees there B/S. One more note…Saatva screens there negative posts that’s why you will never see mine in there site. Buyers beware. Thanks for reading W.D.P.

  • Patrisa

    Hi Sean,
    I’m considering ordering a luxury firm mattress with Lineal Adjustable base. I noticed in your original review you said the beds were not adjustable base friendly. However, Saatva’s website offers the Lineal Adjustable base as an option. What do you think about the Lineal adjustable base with luxury firm mattress?

    • Hey Patrisa, yeah this is new for Saatva. They just redesigned only their 11.5″ version to work with the adjustable base last month. Keep in mind that the 14.5″ version as well as any of their mattresses made prior to March of this year will not be compatible.

  • Laura Yahres

    Hi Sean,
    Thanks for your site, it has been very helpful. My question is this. From the Saatva website, there seems to be a height difference within the 11″ and 14″ within the euro top. Is this correct and if so does it effect the mattress at all?
    Thanks,
    Laura

    • Hi Laura, the difference is actually in the lower coil unit, the 11″ has a slightly shortened coil. It doesn’t affect the mattress.

  • volnut1947

    Hello Sean. My wife and I are considering the Saatva Luxury Firm in a full size. The only bed that we have found to be consistently comfortable is the Hilton mattress (made by Serta I believe). However, the Hilton Home Selection does not offer a full size mattress. Can you compare the Saatva Luxury Firm to the Hilton mattress for us? I have seen some comments of the Luxury Firm being harder than expected but your rating of 5 on the scale of 10 seems to match how I would rate the Hilton mattress. Any help/comments that you can provide would be appreciated. Love your website!! Regards, Skip Trevathan

    • Hi Skip, unfortunately I don’t really know. I’ve never stayed at a Hilton, but from what I remember when I sold Serta mattresses, their hotel beds are commercial versions that are slightly different from their retail models. Thanks for the good words.

  • SloPowers

    I just ordered this mattress yesterday but came across your site today – I’m happy with your corroboration of the reviews I read. I just saw a comment below where you don’t recommend using a mattress pad… we have been using a heated mattress pad for several years and I know I’ll never convince my husband to give it up… do you think it will make that much of a difference? I doubt it will bother him (he sleeps like a log regardless) but I have chronic pain which is exacerbated when I sleep (reason for the new mattress) – especially on the pressure points. Thanks in advance for your comments.

    • I do usually recommend a protector rather than a pad for the most part. If you and your husband find that the heating pad makes an essential difference for you and helps you sleep, keep using it!

      • SloPowers

        Thanks for your comments… I ordered the mattress 2 days ago and already got a call that it will be delivered on Monday… amazing service and hoping the mattress itself will equal that!

  • Mandy Seber

    What are your thoughts on the Zenhaven model?

  • Mandy Seber

    Will this bed support heavier people? My husband is 275.

  • Boat Sailor

    Finally an honest review from someone who knows what they’re talking about. i have to purchase a new mattress for the first time in several years! You have cut to the chase! Thank you!

  • Mark McKinley

    I am thinking of getting the 14.5 inch King mattress for the height. Where would I find sheets for this size?

    • Anywhere really, Macy’s, Bed Bath & Beyond, etc.

  • Gail Serafini

    I am definitely considering this mattress. I have an old box spring on a metal frame. But I had been considering a “platform” bed, with no box spring. Will the Saatva work OK without a foundation? Or does it really need one?

    • Yes, it will be fine on a platform bed.